Yo-yo weather

I was born and raised in Texas. I decided to move back to this state to be close to my family and because I probably couldn’t handle the winter in many of the other states. I’d rather deal with the heat than try to put on enough clothes so I don’t feel the cold down to my bones.

Having said this, over the past several weeks the temperature has bounced from 80°F (27°C) one day to below or near freezing the next.  We’ve already experienced a Canadian cold front and then weeks later after the true Texas weather was back the Arctic cold front made its appearance.

These cold fronts have also come with rain and that’s a lethal combination for getting me out of the house and running.  I finally made a rough plan so that I could build up my base before January.  The only problem was convincing myself to get out of my warm, cozy bed at 5:30 am with the sun still tucked in and the weather gusty and cold.  I’ve been slacking on my weekday runs, but I did make it out one Sunday when the Arctic weather was in full force.

Austin weatherI looked at my weather app before walking out the door to see what I was getting myself into.  With the wind chill factor, it was 19°F (-7°C).  I only had so many clothes that I could layer on me.  For the first mile, it felt like my feet were numb.  The second it was my face and then my hands.  I seriously wondered if my runny nose would actually freeze.  Thankfully nothing froze and I made it through my run.

The warmer weather was back for my run this afternoon, but it’s supposed to freeze yet again tonight.  My goal is to take advantage of the warmer days and bundle up with a cup of something warm on those days when it’s just too plain cold to get out there.

About Maria Mendoza

"Some people follow their dreams, others hunt them down and beat them mercilessly into submission." - Neil Kendall

Posted on December 23, 2013, in General, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

