Wandering around a new park

About a week ago I moved into my house and have been getting settled in.  With the move, running was put on the back burner while I painted new pieces of furniture and got things somewhat organized.  One of the benefits of my location is about a half mile away there is a park with a mile trail around it as well as a basketball court.  So I woke up on Sunday morning and decided it was time to venture over and discover what Balcones District Park had to offer.

I had seen on Google maps a rough idea of how the trail would go.  So I cut across the parking lot and found what I assumed to be the trail.  I followed it down across a dry creek bed and up before heading into the trees.  I thoughtfully landed my feet between the big rocks as I my 2 mm FiveFingers soles are not helpful on these types of terrains.  I passed a man walking his dog and felt like I had to be on the right track.

Then, the side paths began.  I tried to keep right as much as possible as I assumed these paths would cut across the circular trail and cut my mile loop short.  Sometimes I selected the trail based on which one had less overgrowth.  It also got confusing when I’d end up at a dry creek bed and the rock path somewhat disappeared into the empty rock bed.  I even took a slight detour when a tree had fallen across the path and blocked it, but quickly continued on my way.

After twists and turns and even getting splinters from brushing away branches from hitting me in the face, I ended up at yet another fork in the road.  To the right was a gate with an paved road on the other side.   To the left continued the trail.  I took a few steps down the trail and decided to turn around.  I figured the best idea was to get on a street that would have a sign at some point that I would hopefully recognize.  I took a right once I hit the asphalt only to realize it was a dead end.  I turned around and headed up the hill.  It was then that I saw a sign that was actually a street I’d been on during my last run and made it back home safely.

My goal is to now start the loop backwards and see where I end up.  Maybe I’ll have better luck or recognize something from my last run.  The odds of distinguishing one tree from another is slim, but it’s worth a shot!

About Maria Mendoza

"Some people follow their dreams, others hunt them down and beat them mercilessly into submission." - Neil Kendall

Posted on September 11, 2012, in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

