Spicing up lunch with a run

Last week I tried something new.  At the end of June, the company I work for moved offices.  While our last office had a shower, it didn’t come with a curtain and didn’t give the appearance of working very well.  Our new location is equipped with a shower and it even has a door.  All of this was perfect timing considering the cold front that blew in and my lack of desire to run in 40 degree weather in the dark.

I brought all the necessary equipment to the office and mentally prepared myself.  The involved planning a bigger breakfast and mid-morning snack with proper timing.  So I made peanut butter and jelly on toast before heading to the office and then had a bowl of cereal with banana a bit before heading out.  I was excited to change up my routine, run in daylight and start from a different point.

I tested the shower as I wasn’t 100% sure it would work or that it had hot water.  Luckily, it all worked.  So after listening to comments from my coworkers about my funny shoes and if I was really going to do it, I plugged in my earphones and was off.  I did the mile loop around my normal park and then headed further downtown to get in a few more miles before returning to work.  I soaked up the sun with every step and enjoyed fewer people in the park as it was a work day.

Once back, I hopped in the shower and had a great feeling.  I used my time wisely so once the sun went down all I had to do was hop on my bike and head home.  I enjoyed a warmer run as the sun was in full force and I was left with my night to do what I wanted to with.  The sun makes a world of a difference and avoiding the colder temperatures seems like a no-brainer to me.  I mapped out a few different routes and definitely plan on continuing this routine for the weeks to come.

About Maria Mendoza

"Some people follow their dreams, others hunt them down and beat them mercilessly into submission." - Neil Kendall

Posted on July 24, 2012, in Running, Training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

