The signing up buzz

It’s Sunday evening and we’re feeling a little down after 5 hours in front of the television watching Wimbledon, rain and all. Even though there were Pimms and strawberries and true British grit, our man didn’t win. Oh well, the London 2012 Olympic Games is just around the corner. Hopefully the home advantage will help in 20 days’ time.

So, we got back from a friend’s house and there was a little lull in Sunday night proceedings. Full on food, slightly depressed and needing something uplifting to do, I searched for Ealing’s half marathon which was mentioned in July’s Runner’s World. We live in Ealing, west London, and there’s nothing like doing a run which is right on your doorstep. You can train in its very streets. It’s your home race. You own it.

And so, I’ve just signed up for it on 30th September. Two days before I go on holiday (when things in terms of exercise have a tendency to fall apart) I have a focus. And even better, I have another partner in crime. While Maria braves the cold (and then the heat) of the Americas, I’ve pulled in Martin, my soon-husband-to-be into this next running endeavour. He runs. Sometimes and not so often. It’s going to be his biggest challenge yet, but I’m going to be there for him and help him through it. And like having Maria there to talk training highs and lows, he’ll have me to bounce his new-found running joys and pains off. Gladly, I will be there, no doubt sharing some of the same.

So, next task… get a training plan. I am going to try to make this training a little less haphazard than my training for Cruce de los Andes. More to come on that. I’ve already looked at some programmes and at first sight, they look fairly light, but that’s probably because I’m used to fitting a lot of training into not much time.

So, with the buzz and excitement of signing up for a new race, I’m going to go and get my trainers and running gear out, ready for tomorrow’s run. Just so we all know where we stand.

Lammas Park, where we’ll start and finish.

About Laura Alonso

We run. We travel. And to combine both is a beautiful thing. "Runners just do it. They go for the finish line even though someone else has reached it first."

Posted on July 8, 2012, in Running, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

