Happy Father’s Day!

I had planned to write about a different topic today, but seeing as today is Father’s Day I decided to go in a different direction.  This is for you, Dad, for supporting me in everything I do.  I can’t even begin to say how much it means to me.

Last night I had a conversation with a friend who was asking me about memories I have of my father as a child.  I shared a few, but honestly most are related to some sport.  Over the years, we’ve used softball, basketball and running to bond and spend time together.  From coaching me when I was little to playing with me and running half marathons when I was older.

He came to my first half marathon and then joined me in several more after that.  At times we’d question why we’d signed up, but it was always good to cross the finish line together and know we’d done it with each other.  I remember when he ran 10 miles with me to train when I told him I was ready to try a full.  He even coordinated with Fede to surprise me by flying down to Buenos Aires to cheer me on once I finally got the nerve to go the whole 26.2 miles.  Not to mention the fact that he had a t-shirt made (in Spanish) to give me that extra boost!

He’s supported me in sports, but in so much more than that.  He has been there for me no matter what.  I think I could ask him to do anything for me and he wouldn’t hesitate to do everything in his power to make it happen.  Now the physical distance separates us so we can’t celebrate the day together, but it’s those special moments that are important and the memories I’ll always have.

Here’s to you, Dad, and the memories to come!  Thanks for everything!!

About Maria Mendoza

"Some people follow their dreams, others hunt them down and beat them mercilessly into submission." - Neil Kendall

Posted on June 18, 2012, in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

