DogRun

A number of people run with their dogs.  I’ve taken my parent’s or sister’s dog out for a run before and it is definitely a different experience.  That is most likely because when I ventured out and decided to go without a leash.  My parents live in the country and the animals are used to roaming free.  But I didn’t factor in the amount of turning around and yelling that I would have to do to encourage the four-legged friend to stay with me.

Yesterday when I went out for a run (without any animals in tow), I stumbled across this year’s DogRun.  I’d never heard of it before so as I looped around I closely observed and then googled to see what it was all about.  Eukanuba sponsored the event where runners were invited to participate in a 5K run with their best friend.  What a clever idea, I thought.  Running with your dog is becoming more and more popular and Runner’s World even has an entire section on their webpage for this type of companion running.

I watched as the participants walked past with their dogs on their way home.  Rottweilers, beagles, poodles, Labradors and many other varieties were present.  I even saw a dog that had saddlebags on like it was a mule.  I couldn’t’ believe it!  As I made it around to get a view of the starting line, the barking grew louder and louder.  It made me wonder how they prevent dog fights.  All the dogs are on leashes, but it still makes me think.  With such a diversity of dogs and probably some that aren’t accustomed to the company of others, how do the owners contain their pets?

I think the idea is a great one as it encourages people to get out and run that might not normally sign up for a race.  But imagine bringing your poodle out for a pleasant Sunday morning event when you end up next to a massive Rottweiler at the starting line.  That would deter me from participating although I can’t picture myself with a poodle in tow.

What about you?  Do have experiences running with your dog in a race or just for fun?

About Maria Mendoza

"Some people follow their dreams, others hunt them down and beat them mercilessly into submission." - Neil Kendall

Posted on May 7, 2012, in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

