Morning vs Evening

For the majority of my life, I’ve considered myself a night person.  In college, I was convinced that I couldn’t write a paper unless it was dark outside.  This probably had more to do with my need to procrastinate rather than attack the assignment at hand, but it’s still a valid example.  With the years, this has changed.  If I want to be mentally productive, I have to wake up early as after work there is a minimal chance of focusing on the task at hand.

I normally do just that.  I wake up early to study, go to work and use the evenings to get my run in before dinner.  But this past week I tried something new.  School has slowed down and is coming to an end so my early morning study sessions are no longer necessary.  Fall has arrived along with cold and dark evenings.  By the time I make it home, the sun is already down and it’s nearing the 50s.  And while this may not be cold to most people, I’m from Texas.

So last week I opted for morning runs.  I woke up, bundled myself and got my mileage in before work.  Granted it was hard to peel myself out of bed knowing that the minute I pulled back the sheets I was leaving the warmth.  But I sucked it up and made it out even though it was raining one day.  The fact that the sun was rising made it feel warmer than it actually was.  As I looped around the rose gardens, the rays reflected off the lake and set the tone for the rest of the day.

I went into working feeling as if I’d already accomplished so much.  And the best part was when I was on my way home from work and didn’t have the desire to run it was okay.  I’d already put in my time for the day.  The evening was mine to do what I wanted o with it.

So now the question is…how long can I keep this up?

About Maria Mendoza

"Some people follow their dreams, others hunt them down and beat them mercilessly into submission." - Neil Kendall

Posted on May 1, 2012, in Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

