“I feel quite proud of myself”

I’ve already mentioned in a previous post that at the start of July my mum and I are running a Race for Life 5km run for Cancer Research UK.

As all my normal running routes are longer than 5km, and nothing can ever be as tough as Day 2 of Cruce, I’m pretty sure I’ll be fine. However, even though my mum is a qualified PE teacher and is well aware of the benefits of regular exercise, she probably hasn’t run 5km, or even 1km, in the last 20 years. But she’s going for it this year.

Last night she started her training with a 5km programme that came in the latest issue of Zest magazine. She did minutes on and off alternating between running and power walking and was even in the flow so much she did some minutes more than she was supposed to.

She called me afterwards full of the buzz of physical accomplishment and the power of endorphins. “I feel really quite proud of myself,” she told me. And so she should.

Running is too often associated with injuries, exhaustion, pain, boredom, loneliness and super athletes. I’ve written it before and I’ll do so again: just getting out there and doing what you can will have the same positive effects whether you run a mile in four minutes or fourteen minutes. And for people like my mum who are delving into the world of running after a rather long hiatus, there is every reason to feel proud of their efforts.

Running doesn’t have to be exhausting, painful, boring, lonely and just for running freaks. Run comfortably and walk if you have to. Listen to your body. Go on new routes and try beaches, country lanes, parks and new neighbourhoods to keep things fresh. And talk to others about it; share your new running experiences and set yourself goals. Because each step will take you there.

Trust me, you’ll start to feel more than just proud of yourself.

About Laura Alonso

We run. We travel. And to combine both is a beautiful thing. "Runners just do it. They go for the finish line even though someone else has reached it first."

Posted on April 17, 2012, in Psychology, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

