Discovering a new city

Many will say that the best way to get to know a new city is to walk around and discover the nooks and crannies.  This past weekend my boyfriend and I went away to San Nicolas with friends.  It’s a city about 2 hours north of Buenos Aires and it was a perfect excuse to get closer to green pastures with good company.  Granted there isn’t much to see as far as sights, but I woke up Saturday morning and headed out for a run to see what I could find.

I walked through the main plaza towards the riverfront.  I didn’t know which way was best, but after finding the road blocked by a rowing club I opted for the other direction.  I worked my way along the shoreline and passed the open fish market.  If I hadn’t seen it, the smell would have let me in on the secret.  The large fish were basking in the sun waiting for someone to buy them and cook them on the grill.  Then I started to hear music and as I looked around I spotted the church that is the one and only landmark of the city.  A 10K race was finishing up at the base of the church and runners were still crossing with their numbers pinned to their chests.  I’d decided to leave my mp3 player at home and leave my ears open to really absorb my surroundings and it turned out to be a great decision.

I passed those that were stretching after crossing the finish line and continued along the river.  The city had a 4 km aerobic track along the road that was being used by runners, walkers and bikers alike.  I watched as families set up for what would likely be their spot for the rest of the evening.  They unloaded food and drinks while their fishing poles were already set up with the lines bobbing with the flow of the river.  I looped around and said hello to passersby as well as a random man on a horse.

My run was coming to an end, but I had seen what I considered to be a good portion of the city.  Once everyone in the group was up and moving, we headed out with the locals for a “tour” of the city.  Needless to say, they didn’t take us anywhere I hadn’t been.  Turns out my running tour was quite efficient.  So if you’re ever in a new city and need to get your bearings, try doing it on a run.  It’s exercise and tourism at its best!

Tip: Try Googling “running tour” for a city you are visiting or check out Global Running Tours, a site that compiles companies around the world.

About Maria Mendoza

"Some people follow their dreams, others hunt them down and beat them mercilessly into submission." - Neil Kendall

Posted on April 4, 2012, in Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love running through new cities! You do get to experience so much of the sights and sounds that you might overlook on a regular tour!

Leave a Reply

