Last minute details

I would say last minute thoughts, but we all know that post would just include different synonyms of the word excitement.

As I write, Laura is waking up to catch her taxi to the airport to take the first official step towards Cruce.  We texted today as each packed and hopefully have everything we need.  Although we do have Tuesday to run around and get anything we might have forgotten until now.  I turned my apartment upside down as I couldn’t find my vivisac (a sleeping bag liner) that I knew was somewhere.  Thankfully I found it at the bottom of a bag that I would have never expected it to be in.  Now it’s just fitting everything into a reasonable sized bag.

This evening, I went out for my last training run and it was a hot one.  It made me wonder what weather conditions we’re up against in the mountains.  It snowed on top of the dormant volcano we’ll be crossing on Day 1 so hopefully it won’t melt before Friday.  I’ve never run in snow so that would add nicely to the whole experience.  It looks like we’ll have good weather the rest of the days as well if there aren’t any changes.

Laura mentioned before we are Equipo 90.  Now they have informed us that we have a team page that can be used to follow our progress.  So if anyone would like to see how we’re doing or leave us an inspiring message, check it out here.

Now it’s just figuring out how I’m going to focus at work tomorrow.  Only 4 more days!

About Maria Mendoza

"Some people follow their dreams, others hunt them down and beat them mercilessly into submission." - Neil Kendall

Posted on January 30, 2012, in Running and weather, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

