I see Cruce everywhere I look

20120127-025028.jpg

At 7 days until we stand at the starting line, I can hardly contain myself. Nerves, anxiety, excitement, impatience and much much more. Cruce is on the tip of my lips and always hidden somewhere in my mind. I spend hours of the day checking to see if there is news on the website (like the fact that we will be canoeing at some point!) and refreshing the Facebook page to see what others are saying. I’m obsessed.

Yesterday I watched from the bus as two girls ran down the street. One in a Cruce shirt from a previous year and both with their packs. I immediately wanted to hop off and talk to them. Today, I was riding home from work and came up behind a girl cycling with a pack. As I got closer, I realized it was the pack I just bought. I thought to myself, “Ah, so that’s what size it is.” When I went for my run and saw 2 guys running together and one had on a blue shirt. I thought maybe, just maybe they were a Cruce team. So I picked up the pace until I got close enough to see that his shirt. Unfortunately, it said Merrell and not Columbia.

I can picture it anywhere. I see anyone running with a pack and assume they must be training for Cruce. I listen to friends talk about random things and somehow relate it back to our adventure. Focusing at work or on school applications is next to impossible.

I can’t believe it’s almost here. Laura arrives in 4 days and I really wonder how we’re going to sleep. Not only haven’t we seen each other in 9 months, but there’s so much to left to discuss. We’ve obviously covered all the important stuff, but we could talk for days about nothing so just imagine what all we have to say about this!

I’ll do a practice run now as it’s almost 3 a.m. and I’m wide awake with the excitement.

About Maria Mendoza

"Some people follow their dreams, others hunt them down and beat them mercilessly into submission." - Neil Kendall

Posted on January 27, 2012, in Psychology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

