Too much excitement

Not that I had doubted it, but after last week’s long run I wasn’t overly confident on how my back-to-back 13-milers were going to go this weekend.  I decided to go for evening runs as the heat was unbearable at 8:30 a.m. when I was riding to work this week and I knew there was no way I was going to get up early enough to miss it.  It turned out to be a great idea.

I taped up my toes, smashed cotton between a couple and headed out on Saturday night with my old running shoes.  I ran my normal route and it’s amazing what a difference of a few less miles can make.  The humidity was high as a storm was blowing in, but the wind that accompanied it was much appreciated.  Thankfully I’d filled up the Camelbak to the brim so I didn’t run out of water as I was trying to replenish what I sweat out.  I made it home and was glad to have the first one of the weekend under my belt.

I woke up this morning mentally preparing myself for the next 13 miles I needed to cover.  I knew some changes were in line as yesterday’s run was good, but the thought of doing the same route wasn’t exciting.  So I mapped out a new path and loaded up my pack with water and an old computer battery.  The streets were more crowded than where I normally go, but a change of scenery made a world of a difference.  I hit the halfway mark feeling really good.  I finished up with a long straight away as I marked off the streets to home.  Then, I saw the bridge which meant that I only had a few more blocks to go.  My heart started racing and I struggled to breathe.  It wasn’t that I was tired, but I was so excited that the finish was so close.  During those last blocks, I imagined how it’s going to feel to finish each of the 3 days and how it’s going to be to arrive back in San Martin de los Andes and know that we did it.

I can only imagine what it will feel like when it happens, but right now it’s great to know that the hardest part of training is over and there’s only 10 days until we’re standing at the starting line!

About Maria Mendoza

"Some people follow their dreams, others hunt them down and beat them mercilessly into submission." - Neil Kendall

Posted on January 23, 2012, in Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

