Packing it on

Packs have been the main topic of conversation between Laura and me this week.  She brought up the fact that our Camelbaks are quite small considering what we need to take (food, water, layers of clothing, first aid kit and the walkie-talkie).  So we each started researching and finding what we would assume, considering we won’t be trying them on or testing them out, to the best pack for each of us.  Both of ours are now in the mail so fingers crossed they are as good as their reviews.

In line with this same thought, I wandered around my house this evening looking for heavy, non-breakable items before going on my run.  I’ve been doing my long runs with my Camelbak filled to the brim, but that only counts as 5 pounds max.  So I gathered up a couple cans of tuna, a can of bell peppers, a corkscrew in its wooden box and an old computer battery and shoved them in the pack.

Besides the clunking of the corkscrew in its box and the funny looks people on the street gave me, it was a good run.  The weight didn’t feel that different, but I did shake out my arms now and again to make sure I didn’t scrunch my shoulders.  The pack, as always, did a good job of hugging me.  Let’s just hope the ones that Laura and I are similarly designed and we don’t have to put too much stuff in them.  If I had it my way, I’d fill it to the top with food.  Although I’m sure Laura will talk some sense into me.

About Maria Mendoza

"Some people follow their dreams, others hunt them down and beat them mercilessly into submission." - Neil Kendall

Posted on January 20, 2012, in Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Jajajajaja, it’s so obviously a post by Maria when you read a tag such as canned goods (full of food of course!)

Leave a Reply

