Looking the part

Another week has flown by and we are another 7 days closer to waking up in our tent, having breakfast, packing peanut butter sandwiches and heading out into the unknown; known as El Cruce 2012.

This week, I’ve been taking a look at my gear and what else I might need out there. Maria has filled our first aid kit with all kinds of delights. And we have both succumbed to buying new running packs. We can now carry enough peanut butter sandwiches for an entire travelling circus, elephants included.

Anyway, here in London, I have one pair of running pants and one pair of running shorts. They are both over 4 years old (good ‘ol Nike) and serve me well. But kit for 3 days on the trot; kit which might have to be changed due to volcano ash/being wet/temperature changes – delete as appropriate – I don’t have. At least it’s January and the sales are on.

Maria and I maintain we are not the freaky type of runners, and I have realised this week that kit comes into this. I wanted some long running socks. You can get a pair for £38. I imagine quality comes as standard, but £38 for a pair of socks?

The same goes for all other manner of clothing and kit. Running packs for £160; capri pants for £70; vests for £40! I am in Runner’s World magazine (UK) this month in an article called Why I Run and my reason was that it’s for everyone. All you need is  a pair of trainers and off you go; fast or slow, it doesn’t matter. Wearing head to toe elite running gear, or a Garfield t-shirt and pyjama shorts, it doesn’t matter. You’re still a runner.

So, I bought a couple more items for my running wardrobe. By the time they arrive I won’t have been able to do a long run in any of them (you’re starting to see we’re not the freaky types, aren’t you?) but it’s exciting anyway. Why? Because just by having a bit of extra gear, I feel like a more serious runner. If I look the part, surely I’ll be the part?

Or, more to the point, if I look the part, at least I will feel the part?

Don’t worry, I’m not naive enough to believe that a pair of incredible capri pants will get me up those volcanos and mountains. But I think there’s something in the boost you can get from a new suit/dress/overpriced pair of running socks.    

 This week I also got our team flags for us: one British and one American.  It seems you can also look the part, in the right colours, for the bargain price of £3.50.

About Laura Alonso

We run. We travel. And to combine both is a beautiful thing. "Runners just do it. They go for the finish line even though someone else has reached it first."

Posted on January 20, 2012, in Running kit and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

