Peaks and troughs

"Come on, we can do it."

So, we are both nearing the end of training. It’s all been working up to this approaching moment. This weekend it all peaks to the two half marathons in two days. Maria is doing hers Saturday and Sunday. I am doing them Sunday and Monday. By this time next week we will simply be trying to keep our bodies together and doing last-minute buying/organising/freaking out.

On a rainy and windy morning yesterday I had 7 miles to do. I had got up to do some errands in my running gear so that afterwards I would head straight out. This mental and clothing preparation worked. It wasn’t the best run, and it wasn’t the worst. The blisters were pounding in old trainers (though I think my feet actually prefer the change) but I was happy with the all too familiar hills. The camelbak was loaded. But I definitely don’t drink enough.

As I ran I thought about what was going to be coming at the end of the week. How my legs and feet will feel. I pushed it to the back of my mind. You can only take the moment, one step at a time.

And of course, what’s facing us this weekend is nothing compared to what we will encounter on February 3rd. Nor February 4th. And not February 5th either. No matter how cosy we are in our training routes and routines now, a lot of it will fly out of the window and into the volcanos of the Andes as we embark on the unknown of Cruce de los Andes.

So, although we approach this week’s peak with trepidation and respect, there are further peaks and troughs coming. We know that. We will do them together. And whether it’s due to our legs, hearts or minds, let’s hope there’s enough in all three to be peaking at the right moment.

About Laura Alonso

We run. We travel. And to combine both is a beautiful thing. "Runners just do it. They go for the finish line even though someone else has reached it first."

Posted on January 19, 2012, in Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. And even if we don’t peak at the same time, one will have a timely peak to pull the other through their trough to keep going!

Leave a Reply

