Timing is Everything

We all know that timing is important.  Being at the right place at the right time is what makes events happen and the world go ‘round.

Saturday morning I woke up with the intention of running 15 miles, my maximum training distance.  Due to other commitments and the summer sun, I knew I wouldn’t be able to go until 6 p.m. at the earliest.  As the time drew nearer I realized how much I didn’t really want to do it.  I came up with excuse after excuse until I finally decided.  If I wasn’t mentally prepared the minute I hit the pavement, there was no way I was going to complete a 2+ hour run.  So I opted for an alfajor and started the mental preparation for the next morning.

I woke early up on Sunday and did my normal routine: ate peanut butter, greased myself with sun screen (which I proceeded to sweat off in the first couple blocks) and Vaseline.  I set off and was feeling good.  The sun was getting hotter and I was weaving as I looked for bits of shade from the trees.  All-in-all, it was a good run.  I passed people washing their cars near the ecological reserve and contemplated asking them to hose me down.  By the time I decided that I would ask for it, there were no more car washers.  Talk about bad timing.  Although I did find a lone sprinkler in Recoleta that I dipped my head in front of.  It was just what I needed to finish the final miles home.

It was the first time I’d given in and walked on a long run.  Even if it was for a half block here or a half block there, I felt like I was giving in.  I rationalized this by telling myself there is no way we’re going to run 100% of the time so as long as I’m still moving it counts.

Would my run have been better if I had done it on Saturday evening instead of Sunday in the sun?  That’s a question I’ll never know the answer to.  Timing is crucial and I don’t regret waiting until the next morning to head out on my run as I was mentally prepared when I woke up.

It’ll be important for Laura and me to coordinate our timing as we move up and down the mountains.  But knowing us, I don’t think that’ll be a problem.

About Maria Mendoza

"Some people follow their dreams, others hunt them down and beat them mercilessly into submission." - Neil Kendall

Posted on January 17, 2012, in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. It’s true, timing is eveything (especially when you’re hoping your body stays together for just long enough, then it can fall apart in whichever spectacualr way it feels) but there are also the moments when it is now or never.

    I think we both had ‘now’ moments on Sunday and in 17 days it will have to be a now moment again. And it will be. Because the time it has taken us to get us there, to be living the dream, will finally need its tough and wonderful rewards.

    Set your clocks…

Leave a Reply

