Time for bed

The first time I trained for the marathon, I was surprised by 2 things. One was how quickly the body can adapt to doing something as not normal as running for miles and hours on end. The second was how, in order to do it, the body needed time to also rest and recover.

In my twenties I used to be able to fly and live in the face of sleep, going from runs to nights out to more drinks and into a day’s worth of classes with a mere sweep of my bed in between. It didn’t help that I felt sleep was a waste of time: there’s no conversation, no eating, no dancing. It’s all quite boring really, being asleep.

As the training intensified and the runs became longer, however (and as I neared the end of my twenties!) I realised that my body needed those hours when I was unconscious. It needed to lay still, rest, refresh itself for the next manic day ahead. I also realised that my brain needed the same thing.

I was thinking about this as last night laying in bed. I had been chatting to Maria all afternoon, sharing the wonderful comments on the Cruce de los Andes Facebook page and watching their latest promo video (see previous posts). I couldn’t sleep. I was making lists in my head (safety pins, blister plasters, pins, our laminated photos, flags) and thinking about each rock, tree and river we might pass or go through. Heart pumping, I was mentally already running it.

While this is a good thing – I imagine mental strength is most of the battle in these endurance events – I still need to make sure that what I learnt in my first marathon happens: sleep.

Last night I dreamt about Cruce de los Andes and that David Cameron and Nick Clegg were also doing it, but that they somehow had these little carts that they were using.

When I got up this morning to go for powerwalking in the frost, all that played in my mind was waking up in that tent with Maria in just 3 weeks’ time and our crazy and fabulous day we will have ahead of us.

And that it won’t be a dream.

Check out the official Facebook page for Cruce de los Andes 2012: https://www.facebook.com/elcruceoficial

About Laura Alonso

We run. We travel. And to combine both is a beautiful thing. "Runners just do it. They go for the finish line even though someone else has reached it first."

Posted on January 13, 2012, in Running and the body and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

