Time to pop

Today is day 2 of doing back-to-back runs. It’s only 6.5 miles each time, but I’ve never run that far on consecutive days. Am just having my breakfast, because if I didn’t, Maria would probably growl at me. (She’s very good at training eating, I tend to forget about it and wonder why I am actually feeling hungry at 10pm while making lunch!)

Anyway, I digress. I was laying in bed last night and I realised that, as well as my beating heart (a good thing) there was another throbbing going on at the opposite end of my body.

My feet and their blisters. I have been trying to ignore them, but now they have a pulse of their own, it’s proving quite difficult. I need to attack with pins, salt water, surgical spirit and those incredible blister plasters from Boots. And I need to keep running on them. Eeeeeeek.

With three weeks to go, it’s making me wonder, with a kind of detached interest as if they are not part of me, what they are going to finish Cruce de los Andes looking like. Actually, I don’t care what they look like, as long as they can support me. I’m not sure I’d be that good at running without feet.

The trusted vaseline

 

The organisers at Cruce tell us that we will get blisters, no matter how comfy and right our trainers are. It’s all about the terrain, corners, our feet going in different positions to what we are used to. Great. My feet don’t like the relatively straight, if hilly, roads of west London. This is going to be interesting.

Pass the vaseline. I’ll deal with them on my return.

 
About Laura Alonso

We run. We travel. And to combine both is a beautiful thing. "Runners just do it. They go for the finish line even though someone else has reached it first."

Posted on January 11, 2012, in Running and the body. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

