Why, why, why

Last week I wrote about questions which I have been asking myself prior to, during and after my runs. One of them has not been why? recently.

The Cruce de los Andes event which Maria and I are currently preparing for is being done yes, for our personal challenge and love of adventure, but also to raise money for causes close to our hearts.

My grandpa loved words. I loved my grandpa. He would read Shakespeare to me when as a child we stayed over their house at the weekends. At the time, laying in that big double bed by myself, it went over my head, but later, when I was a bit older and Shakespeare’s Animated Tales came out, I was absorbed by them. Fast forward to my love of Shakespeare and degree in English Literature and Language. Books, history, word games and songs: these are the legacies of my grandpa special to me.

I was 13 or 14 when my grandpa got prostate cancer. I didn’t really understand too much about it, and my grandpa was a stubborn, unfussy Englishman, too proud to go to the doctor when he should have. They operated. But unfortunately, cancer had decided to go on a holiday around other parts of his body. When it landed with a thud in his bones, time to talk about my GCSE English projects and do the Sunday Telegraph elimination game was limited. He died the summer before I turned 15.

I have chosen to do the challenge of Cruce de los Andes in his memory. I am raising money for the Pelican Cancer Foundation, a UK charity dedicated to helping those living with cancer live longer. It supports medical research and education to support those with prostate, bowel, bladder and liver cancers.

So, during my hilly weekend run (in the sun! at last!) as my blisters started to whine in my trainers at mile 8, I didn’t think about the joy that would come from sitting on the pavement and taking off my shoes. I thought about how far I had already come, how far I still had to go and all the support which was coming in to help those suffering with cancer; kind donations being sent because I can be on my feet for miles at a time, and I will have to be on my feet for even more miles at a time. Donations for a huge challenge, donations for a wonderful cause.

Blisters? What blisters?

To donate to the Pelican Cancer Foundation for my doing Cruce de los Andes (3 days, 106km, up and down volcanos and mountains, from Chile to Argentina) click on the logo below. Many thanks for every donation, big or small. It means a lot. As Shakespeare wrote: Lend me a heart replete with thankfulness!

 http://www.pelicancancer.org

About Laura Alonso

We run. We travel. And to combine both is a beautiful thing. "Runners just do it. They go for the finish line even though someone else has reached it first."

Posted on January 9, 2012, in General, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

