Questions are being asked

There are many questions which runners ask themselves before, during and after runs. Here are some which have popped into my mind this week:

Which way is the wind blowing?

Gloves on or off?

Should I fill the camel pack right up anyway, just for added weight?

Should I wait until the rain stops blowing horizontally?

How many hills shall I include?

My ipod dies after 51 minutes, shall I still go with it?

Which way shall I start with, left or right?

Why do my legs feel like concrete pillars?

Will my achilles behave?

Why do people drive when you can run Hangar Lane quicker during rush hour?

Are Chilean volcanos as windy as this?

Is that my tibia I can feel?

Why does my blister always start to pound at 6.5 miles?

What shall I have for dinner?

Would I go quicker on rollerblades going up this hill?

Should I be drinking more as I go?

Why am I coughing?

How is the wind pushing me back up the hill?

Isn’t the body amazing?

Is Maria running right now as well?

Did I run this slow a year ago?

Why can’t it be warn enough for a little sweat?

Did I run this fast a year ago?

How did those miles go so quickly?

Why does it seem so far beforehand?

Why is it not raining now I’m done?

Why does stretching feel so good?

 

 

 

 

 

There is never this question:

Will I make it?

If you start to question that, the uphill can become vertical. And you’ll forget all the other niggling questions you actually have answers to.

Of course you will make it. In your own time and your own way. But you will make it.

About Laura Alonso

We run. We travel. And to combine both is a beautiful thing. "Runners just do it. They go for the finish line even though someone else has reached it first."

Posted on January 6, 2012, in Psychology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

