It’s everywhere I go

The wind.

It’s not my friend right now. No matter which way I turn, which track and path and suburban road I take, it’s always there, swirling around me.

Yesterday, I ran in Norfolk and included the Hunstanton cliffs on my route. I love that mile along the cliffs; the sea was in and it’s just a beautiful part of the run, so open, au naturel. But that wind. I turned one way and another and it was blasting into me from all sides, it felt. Where is the tail wind in this part of the world?

And of course, you’re pushing forwards and you don’t feel like you’re getting anywhere. Head down, eyes streaming, it’s tough and bitter. But then, when you do arrive, it has its benefits. I made it! How did I get here? You have broken through the barriers, through wind which felt like mud, and arrived.

It’s a wonderful surprise.

About Laura Alonso

We run. We travel. And to combine both is a beautiful thing. "Runners just do it. They go for the finish line even though someone else has reached it first."

Posted on December 19, 2011, in Running and weather and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

